World Cup 1974: When the Netherlands changed the Brazilian model with Total Football

Kathmandu. West Germany hosted the World Cup for the primary time. In 1972, in view of the Munich terror assault on the Olympics, a big safety association was made.

The 1974 World Cup was held in 9 cities in West Germany, including West Berlin.

Teams like England, Spain, Mexico and Portugal couldn’t move the lengthy selection course of. East Germany performed the World Cup solely as soon as, whereas Australia, Haiti, Zaire (at present the Dominican Republic of Congo) qualified for the primary time.

Brazil’s golden era left its mark on the world stage for a very long time. They had their very own samba model of soccer and performed as a legend.

Brazil’s 1974 staff performed a distinct model of soccer and the Netherlands succeeded in changing Brazil in crowd-pleasing vogue. Under the management of Johan Cruyff, the Dutch staff used ‘whole soccer’. Where each outfield participant may take any function other than his place.

The Netherlands have been undefeated till the ultimate. In the ultimate, they competed towards former European champions and host West Germany.

With no German participant touching the ball, Cruyff received a penalty within the first minute and scored to provide the Netherlands the lead.

In the twenty fifth minute, Germany equalized by means of a penalty. Gerd Müller scored earlier than the primary half and that aim was sufficient to provide Germany the World Cup for the second time.

In this World Cup, the ‘Total Football’ model of the Netherlands captivated the viewers.

A brand new World Cup trophy was created. 18 carat gold was used within the FIFA World Cup trophy.

Oceania and Sub-Saharan Africa have been represented within the World Cup for the primary time by this version. East and West Germany performed towards one another within the group stage. East Germany received the match 1-0.

It was the final World Cup for Dutch nice Johan Cruyff and Germany’s Gerd Muller.

World Cup 1974 in statistics

Host: West Germany
Team: 16
Format: Group Stage Second Stage, Final
Game: 38
Goals: 97
Winner: West Germany
Runner-up: Netherlands
Golden Boot: Grzegorz Lato (Poland)